Energy Manager of the Year Awards

Recognizing Ontario’s leading energy management professionals

The Energy Manager of the Year Awards celebrate Ontario’s most innovative professional energy managers who deliver lasting value to organizations across the province. Save on Energy has held these industry-leading awards since 2017 to recognize the skill and dedication of these individuals and their organizations' commitment to energy-efficiency best practices.

Submissions for the awards open each year in the spring, and the winners are recognized at an award ceremony in December. Thank you to all those who applied for the 2021 Energy Manager Awards – and stay tuned for this year’s winners!

Meet the winners

Learn more about past winners.

Graham Aikenhead - 2020 Energy Manager of the Year

City of Guelph

At the City of Guelph, Graham Aikenhead and the city’s broader Energy and Climate Change team have identified and implemented several energy-savings measures for the city that have resulted in $1.7 million in annual cost savings. Graham’s work is part of the “Guelph Future Ready - Sustaining Our Future” Strategic Plan, which includes certifying Guelph to the ISO 50001 Energy Management System Standard to sustainably secure and continuously improve energy management for the city’s future.

Watch the video

Nathan Gerber - 2020 Energy Manager of the Year

Fanshawe College

By working collaboratively across the entire organization at Fanshawe College, and with the support of a wide-reaching energy management team, Nathan Gerber has implemented a number of successful initiatives. These include an energy management information system that helped the college reduce its energy costs and achieve 4,700 MWh in annual electricity savings.

Watch the video

Emerson Brown

Washington Mills

Emerson Brown has been a leading force in introducing several organization-wide strategies at Washington Mills designed to create greater employee awareness of energy management practices. Emerson’s efforts have resulted in $350,000 in annual electricity cost savings, enabling the organization to stay competitive in the industrial sector and to become more energy efficient in the long term. Learn more

Watch the video

Adeyemi Adewunmi - 2020 Energy Manager of the Year

Minto Group

At Minto Group, Adeyemi Adewunmi has been instrumental in standardizing how energy management practices are considered, implemented and verified, while continuously monitoring energy consumption to ensure buildings are operating optimally. Adeyemi’s efforts have resulted in 4,090 MWh in electricity savings and $500,000 in cost savings over two years.

Watch the video

Allan Dai and Elisabeth Perlikowski - 2020 Energy Managers of the Year

Sick Kids

Allan Dai and Elisabeth Perlikowski are members of SickKids’ dedicated energy sustainability team, working with all levels of the organization to implement energy management programs, innovative projects and initiatives. These include using modern, smart building technology to help building operations managers pave the way for smarter energy use. Allan and Elisabeth’s efforts have achieved a nine-percent reduction in energy intensity and $500,000 in annual utility cost savings.

Watch the video